The Law of Giving and Receiving

GYI0000667336.jpg

I do a lot of reading in my spare time, both fiction and non-fiction.  One author I enjoy is Deepak Chopra, a renowned spiritual leader who has written extensively on a variety of topics related to personal growth and development. One of his writings that always resonates well with me centers on what he calls The Law of Giving and Receiving.  Christmas time is the perfect time of year to talk about giving and receiving.  That’s what the season is all about.  Unfortunately, little focus is given to this topic the remainder of the year. I would like to take a moment to reflect on this Law, and offer some of my own insights.

The Law of Giving and Receiving stipulates that we share this universe with others, a universe that exists and operates through dynamic exchange with one another, and that by giving and sharing, we “keep the abundance of the universe circulating in our lives.” 1.
This is a magnificent principle, and ought to be embraced at all times of the year and not just limited to the Christmas season.

Three points I’d like to take from this Law, paraphrased here are:

1. Wherever we go, and whoever we encounter, we must bring them a gift. The gift may be a compliment, a smile, a flower, or a prayer.
2. Today we will gratefully receive all the gifts that life has to offer.
3. We will make a commitment to keep wealth circulating in our life by giving and receiving life’s most precious gifts.

This law speaks to a mantra that I often have adopted, and one that has proven to be a positive force in my life. That is, if you want blessings, be a blessing to others. I think of a gift as a blessing when it’s given sincerely and with a genuine desire to be magnanimous – selfless – to the recipient. The gift doesn’t need to be anything great (material), for many of us have less to give than others. But when you give according to your own ability, whether it is something tangible or a simple smile or a little compassion or a prayer, it will cycle back to you. Giving and receiving are hallmarks for the Christmas season.  But I encourage anyone reading this to expand their thinking and try to give something to others every day. You have no idea just how powerful a simple good morning can be to someone

To paraphrase something that I once read from some Buddhist principles, life is cyclical and all that we give out comes back to us tenfold. Therefore, if we would always give out that which we seek, then everyone’s needs would be met.

1. Chopra, Deepak. “The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success,” Novato, CA: New World Library, 1995.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.