Let Them Eat Tangerines!

250px-Tangerine_2009-03-11

Ok, so the original phrase was “Let them eat cake,” which was first spoken by Jean-Jacques Rousseau, a Genevan philosopher in his autobiography, Confessions, (no it wasn’t Marie Antoinnette as many people believe). I say, let them eat tangerines. Lately, I have been really into eating tangerines.  I’ve always loved them, in fact, I love all fruits.  But there is something about the tangerine that has hooked me of late. I already have eaten 6 today and it’s not even 2pm yet.

When I discussed it with my doctor, I jokingly told him that I have a serious addiction.  “I’m addicted to tangerines,” I told him.  He laughed and told me that an addiction to tangerines is an excellent addiction to have. Then he proceeded to rattle off all the great benefits that tangerines offer. I almost thought he was a tangerine salesman the way he was spouting off all the health benefits.  I tried to remember all of them but failed.  I did recall some of what he told me, and here it is:

Low Calorie: Tangerines are a relatively low calorie food. A moderate-sized tangerine is only about 45 calories. That’s a good snack to have between meals when you get hungry. Low calorie foods help to keep the weight off.

Fiber: If you eat just two, you’re getting 3.5 grams of fiber. Fiber is good because it can tackle hunger.  That’s good news.  Next time you feel hungry, reach for a tangerine.

Vitamin C: Tangerines are a great source of vitamin C. Like its cousin, the Mandarin orange, a serving packs about 53 milligrams of Vitamin C.  That’s almost 2/3 the RDA.  Isn’t that special?

Bonus – Tangerine Skins Benefit: You’ve heard of orange zest or lemon zest (If you haven’t, there’s Google.)? Well, try tangerine zest. The skin is found show marked protections against diabetes, arteriosclerosis, and guard against cancer-causing agents. Add to salads, smoothies, oatmeal, or use to make a parfait. 1, 2

Doc mentioned some other things but I don’t remember them all now.  I looked up a few things but this is enough for now.  Tangerines are a great food, great snack, and looks like a great medicine as well. Go get yourselves some tangerine ASAP, because I left the greatest benefit for last.  They’re delicious!

SOURCES:

1. http://www.nhs.uk/news/2011/04April/Pages/tangerines-prevent-diabetes-obesity-claim.aspx

2. http://www.schulich.uwo.ca/schulichhome/articles/2011/04/06/substance-in-tangerines-fights-obesity-and-protects-against-heart-disease

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

