Shake Weight Review

l296373319

I have been using a Shake Weight that I got interested in after watching an informercial late one night when I couldn’t sleep. This device, the Shake Weight for Men, is a 5-pound dumbbell (there is a companion weight for women that is a 2.5-pound dumbbell) with springs at the base of each end designed to strengthen and tone the arms, chest, and shoulders. An instructional DVD is included in the box that provides an elementary-level primer on how to get started. The Shake Weight website’s promotional material claims it is based on a relatively new concept called “Dynamic Inertia” that tones muscles by creating multi-directional resistance. It is not motorized and does not use batteries. The loaded springs work out the muscles while you’re shaking the weight.

The DVD is not bad, showing a shirtless buff, toned fitness trainer (that’s him in the picture up there) completing a series of exercises, explaining what to do and how to do it. When I first used it, I immediately could feel it working.  My arm and shoulder muscles began tightening up and I could tell it was working.  It’s a great addition to anyone’s exercise equipment.

My biggest complaint for the DVD is that it is too short. Being only nine minutes long, I don’t think it’s sufficient enough given that the cost was $29.99 (the ladies’ version is $19.99). You don’t have to order it online or from the customer service fulfillment telephone hotline. I purchased mine from Bed, Bath & Beyond and I’ve seen them in Target, Walmart, and other brick and mortar stores.

Before I began using the Shake Weight, I watched the nine minute video, simulating the motions of the trainer pretending I was actually holding the gadget. The video shows three separate exercises: two arm front shake, two arm shake behind your head, and a single arm shake. I watched the video again, this time using the weight and following along with the video. It recommends you do a 30-second set with a 15-second rest in between. The trainer recommended two sets. I felt a moderate amount of soreness in my biceps and triceps and chest, but I don’t think two sets are sufficient enough to reap the most benefits. I did it for four sets and I feel distinct muscle soreness in my arms and significant amounts of soreness in my chest.

Long-term, I’m not sure how effective the Shake Weight will be in developing the kind of muscles as suggested in the infomercial. People need to push themselves a little more than what the promotional material recommends. The Shake Weight definitely gives a great workout and will leave you out of breath and refreshed.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.