When Animals Attack

animals

 

I have seen several news reports of animal attacks on humans lately. That sort of thing scares the living daylights out of me just thinking about it.  Can you imagine what people must go through when they see the animal approaching? For some of these animals, their teeth are as long and twice as thick as your fingers.

The first one I want to highlight is a polar bear attack on a woman in Canada. Erin Greene was walking home one evening when a large polar bear came out of nowhere and pounced on her, peeling off part of her scalp and her flesh. The nearly 400-pound bear was more than three times her body weight and could easily have killed her. Luckily a neighbor heard her screams for help and came out and whacked it with a shovel.  Then, there was another incident in Seminole County, Florida.  An unidentified woman was attacked by a stray bear as she was out walking her dogs. The woman managed to free herself and ran to safety where she called an ambulance. In Yellowstone, a bear attacked two men who were hiking.  This incident is the eeriest for me, because it’s a national park that attracts millions of tourists – families and children – from all around the world. I had long wanted to vacation there, but feel less inspired to do so knowing that bears have such easy access to visitors.

These incidents make me glad I don’t live near wooded areas. The people in these stories are lucky to be alive.  I know of other stories in which the people attacked did not survive. Besides bears, common animal attacks I have read about come from elk, bison, mountain lions, and wolves. I don’t want to face any of them.  Be alert out there and study tips on what to do when animals attack.  It’s never happened to me, but I know it’s likely a life-changing experience.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in Animal Attacks and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When Animals Attack

  1. Pingback: My Soapbox Rant: Mountain Lion Attacks Little Girl | The Mind's Eye – Musings of Will Saunders

Leave a Reply

