Ubuntu!

ubuntu

I always like highlight things that I come upon that support and promote one’s spiritual well-being.  I have come upon such a tool that I think will benefit you if you’re on a journey to self-development.  A program of Visions of the Heart Spiritual Life Center (SLC) in Suburban Maryland. The SLC, a member of the Council of Interfaith Communities, was founded in 2010 and operates on the principles of love, truth, wisdom, and community.

One of SLC’s program’s that I want to highlight is Ubuntu, a fellowship circle created to embody the essence of community. Taken from the Bantu language (a sub-branch of the Niger-Congo languages), Ubuntu means I am what I am because of who we all are, which focuses one’s attention on the concept of community. This ministry of the SLC teaches that we cannot prosper as an individual without making a connection to others and all that they have to offer.

Ubuntu offers opportunities participants to share, to grow, and to nurture and be nurtured, and to recognize that “even though we each are on our spiritual journey, we can journey together in community.”

This is very powerful to me. Although I have not personally attended ministry of the SLC, I read the e-newsletter monthly.  I receive this Ubuntu blessing and wanted to share it with others.  I hope it touches you as it has touched me.  For more information about this or other SLC ministries, please reach out to Senior Minister and Spiritual Director Rev. Anthony Farmer via email  or visit the SLC on Facebook.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in Ubuntu! and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

