Going To Work When You’re Sick

homer-sick

I’m sitting on the train Friday morning and these two senior women are chatting.  One of them is talking about the young people in her office and the apparent lack of a work ethic.  This woman goes on to say that she’s been working for 21 years and never took a day off, not even calling out sick. I’m all for a good work ethic.  But my mind is saying, if you’re really sick, why do you bother coming to work? You look terrible, and I know you must feel miserable. Honestly, I suspect you won’t get much work done anyway since all you seem to be doing is sneezing, coughing, blowing your nose, and talking about how badly you feel.   

I was reading a Huffington Post article reporting that 60% of people go to work sick. I believe it.  I see people coughing and sneezing at work all the time.  The Huffington Post article advises people to watch out for hot spots, such as an “elevator button, stair railing or ATM machine — that have been contaminated by people who are ill.”

Sometimes people think I have OCD, as I am often washing my hands and wiping things down and often, I use a pen to press elevator buttons. I know some people avoid taking off when they’re sick, because anytime they aren’t at work, it is a day they don’t get paid. But, many people come to work when they have ample amounts of sick time they could use.

So, I’m here to say that if you can, please stay home.  You’ll feel better and you won’t be contaminating others.  I don’t want your flu.  Nobody else does either.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in self-help, Working When Sick and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

