Being Liebster

liebster2

The Liebster Award

First off, I wish to send many heartfelt thanks to ShunP for nominating me. I am very appreciative. Writing has always been something I enjoyed doing.  Whenever I was a part of any team or group activity, I always wanted to be involved with writing notes or minutes or policy.  I’m so flattered that my efforts get noticed.  Just like the person who nominated me, I also was completely unaware that the Liebster Award existed.  It’s a great tool to highlight the blogs that may otherwise go unnoticed or may not get the attention they deserve.

As the old saying goes, “To whom much is given, much is required.” That statement has been used and reused, phrased and paraphrased and rephrased overphrased.  But the essence of it comes from the Bible, Luke 12:48. Nominating me for this award is what is given; what is required of me is as follows:

What’s required:

1. Each nominee should link back to the person that nominated them.

2. Answer the ten questions given to you by the nominator.

3. Nominate 10 other bloggers who have less than 200 followers.

4. Create 10 questions for your nominees to answer.

5. Let the nominees know you have nominated them by going to their website and notifying them.

The 10 questions posed to me were thought-provoking; here are my replies:

1. Why do you write, is it because of passion?

I write because it’s an opportunity to share myself with the world.  It allows me to explore a topic or idea, even in some instances fictional things, that are all mine.  Whether or not someone agrees with me or disagrees with me, I like to write as a way to become free, and nobody can tell me that it’s wrong or crazy or beautiful or any other attribute that they might give to it.  Writing is one of the few things we can do in the privacy of our own homes that lets us express ourselves in an unfettered way.  I encourage everybody who reads this to always write.  Even if you never share it with anybody else, you should write. If nothing else, writing can clear you head and mind, much like meditation, medication, can do.  Try writing when you’re angry, depressed, confused, anxious, or otherwise not your real self.  You’d be surprised at the positive benefits it can have on your life.

2. What could you quit cold turkey, without a second thought?

I could easily give up television and cable. I find many days that there isn’t much there, as many channels we have.  First, they replay the same shows and movies over and over again. Second, much of the programming rotates.  It’s not uncommon to see something on one channel only to find the same thing on another channel. Cable is the biggest gimmick and we all fall prey to it. I often end up turning it off and listening to music, reading, or writing.  So, I’m certain that I could easily give it up.  No hesitation.

3. What is your biggest pet peeve?

My biggest pet peeve is habitual tardiness.  That’s something that has always been an issue for me. If you’re supposed to be someone at a specified time, then you need to get there at that time.  You should factor in time for something to go wrong so you will be on time.  Of course, I know things happen beyond our control that can’t be helped. But if you’re one of those people who is always late, and you even think it’s cute by boasting that you’re never on time, then you should realize how disrespectful you’re being to other people’s time.  But what irks me even more are the people who enable these tardy folk.  Not long ago I went to a conference.  At 10:00 am when the session was supposed to begin, the facilitator comes to the podium and announces, “We’re going to wait a few minutes to give people time to get here.”  Say what?  Why do we need to give them time to get here?  What about inconveniencing all the people who could get there on time?  When isn’t anybody concerned about that?  And you know what ends up happening?  Late people will say, “Oh, they won’t start on time.”  So, these habitual tardy people continue taking their time to get there.  If something starts at 10:00 am then that’s when you need to be there and if you’re late, oh well.  We need to start events on time and stop waiting for them.  They’ll just have to miss the beginning.

4. What is the most selfless thing that you’ve ever done?

When I was in the US Army, I worked rotating shifts.  They went 7 am to 3:30 pm – 3:00 pm to 11:30pm – and 11:00 pm to 7:30am with three days off. If you needed to be off when it wasn’t pre-scheduled or a medical emergency, then it was your responsibility to find someone to work for you.  I often volunteered to work for people, especially around holidays. Being it was the military, there was no such thing as comp time or over time. It was just extra, unreimbursed time. It gave me a good feeling inside knowing I gave people time to go be at home with their families and kids. My parents were always there, so I know what it means to a kid to have their parents at home.

5. Do you hold grudges, why or why not?

No, I don’t hold grudges.  As angry as some people have made me with some of the hurtful things they may have done, I learn to let it go.  I know that the energy a grudge can generate inside of me is unhealthy.  I just let it go.   People even commend me on being able to move past things.  Doing so makes for a happier life.

6. How would your epitaph read?

“I’ve loved, I’ve laughed, I’ve cried, I faced it all and I stood tall, and did it my way.”

7. What has been the biggest honor of your life?

I think the biggest honor is this Liebster Award.  It is an honor, and a very humbling experience.

8. If you had access to a time machine, what would you change?

I wouldn’t change anything at all.   But, I would go back to re-enjoy the final concert of Lena Horne at Carnegie Hall before she retired. I’d always been a fan of hers and seeing her in a live performance was amazing. I would love to go and see it again.

9. What is your dream job and how far are you from realizing it?

My dream job isn’t really a job that I’m able to achieve.  I used to always fantasize about being a superhero, like Superman, who saves people from the troubles in their environment, and saves people from themselves.  In a sense, I suppose I do this since many people come to me with their troubles, even if nothing else than serving as a non-judgmental ear to lend a listen. I once used to wonder why I attracted so many of my friends and associates who’d bring their woes to me, then I found out.  About a month ago someone told me how much they appreciate that (1) I am an unbiased listener who doesn’t judge people for the situations they find themselves in and (2) I don’t merely tell people what I think they want to hear but rather, I respond with empathic, carefronting feedback.  Carefronting (or care-fronting) is like a loving confrontation, trying to get people to see themselves accurately rather than live in denial.  So, to the people who seek me out for guidance, I am their Superman.

10. What single person in your family has impacted you the most?

That’s easy. Everybody who knows me well knows that my paternal grandmother was my angel and hero.  Her birth name was Grace, but we all called her Bama (sounds like Bamm Maa). Grace is surely what she was to me and to many people.  Bama taught me many things, mostly about myself and how a young man is supposed to carry himself.  While I learned much from my parents, Bama’s lessons reached beyond anything I ever learned from anybody and I’m so grateful I got to know her. More than that, she was fun to hang around. Some of my favorite classic television shows I enjoy today she and I watched when I was a kid.  She was the sweetest person I have ever known.

Now, here is where I list the following bloggers I wish to nominate for the Liebster Award, with their 10 questions below it:

http://wordpress.com/read/blog/id/44475821/

http://wordpress.com/read/blog/id/40368316/

http://wordpress.com/read/blog/id/18695058/

http://wordpress.com/read/blog/id/59922851/

http://wordpress.com/read/blog/id/45541397/

http://wordpress.com/read/blog/id/35088143/

http://photonatureblog.com/

http://suellewellyn2011.wordpress.com/

http://drusillamott.wordpress.com/

http://negressions.com/

10 Questions:

1. When you write, do you usually follow a plan or write whatever comes in your head?

2. What tourist attraction around the world would you like to visit that you’ve never been to?

3. What is the most important lesson you’ve learned?

4.  What person in history would you most like to have met, and why did you select this person?

5.  Who is your favorite musical artist, and which one of their songs do you like the most?

6.  Do you believe anything can be done to curtail all the biases we have in society with regard to gender, ethnicity, race, sexual orientation, religion, and all the other things people use as a means to discriminate against others?

7.  What is the biggest dilemma with television programming and Hollywood movies?

8.  What is your opinion on the debate surrounding the legalization of marijuana?

9.  How do we fix what’s wrong in Washington, DC on Capitol Hill and all the partisan battles, or do you think it can never be fixed?

10.  Which of your teachers from elementary school, college, high school, trade school or wherever has left the greatest impression on you?

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Being Liebster

  1. shunpwrites says:

    Heavy words my friend, good stuff!

    Like

  2. Hi Will. Thank you for your consideration and thoughtfulness in nominating me for this award. I am truly appreciative that you thought enough of On Faith and Writing to think it warranted such an honor. However, I no longer accept awards such as this. It became too much a year or so ago to keep up with them all, and I decided to make my site an award-free site. I am now very busy with family matters at home and do not always have the time to write, but I truly do appreciate your following my blog and nominating me for this award. Thank you again, and I hope you will continue to stop in for a visit from time to time. I will do my best to post now and again.

    Like

  3. NOAEfame says:

    Thank you for all that you do. It is an honor to get the award from you. i really appreciate that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

