Extreme Downsizing!

small-house-by-laneworks-1

I have been reading one thing after another about people who downsize their homes…shedding their multi room, sometimes 2 or three story homes for a one room flat.  Extreme Downsizing here, to downsizing there.  There was one couple I read about that lived in a teeny, tiny, 500-square foot home.  Can you imagine living in such a small home? It’s one thing to live that way out of necessity, but this couple chose to do so to streamline their life.  I saw an interesting story highlighted on the Today Show that took a look at it.  To say the least, it’s quite a fascinating way of life.

Formally, this style of living is called minimalism.  One who follows the principles of  this lifestyle is a minimalist.  In this context, a minimalist is “being or proving a bare minimum of what is necessary” to live or survive, according to the American Heritage Dictionary.  It is often done as a way to cut expenses and save money.  But some people, anecdotally, do it because they are tired of the rules of the establishment, of life, and want to make a point of being different and original.  But it must be quite a challenge.

Most of us are so used to having stuff, lots of stuff – tons and tons of stuff – that it would be an enormous undertaking to downsize to such a huge degree. I would surmise that most people have so much stuff that they probably have things they don’t even realize all the things they own.  If my situation forced me to, I’m sure I probably would have to adjust.  But I don’t know if I could choose to do so on my own.  It’s a tough call.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

