What It Means to Try

man-looking-in-the-mirror

I was chatting with someone who has been struggling with her weight for many years.  She in her 40s and she says she was an obese child. On a side note: this is why we need to help our children who are overweight.  Chances are, they’ll end up an adult with weight struggles…not always but very often.  As we age, it becomes increasingly more difficult to shed the pounds.

Anyhow, in answering her questions to me about what she was doing wrong, we talked about health, fitness, and nutrition.  She finally said, “I’m going to really try and make it work this time.”  Just between you and me, she didn’t sound like she believed she would succeed.

She’s just signed up for the Southbeach Diet.  She had previously tried and failed Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, and a half dozen other weight loss plans, some of which had no particular commercial name. One thing is certain to me and that is, it doesn’t really matter what weight loss program she uses.  Key ingredient to the success for all programs is what’s inside, the amount of fortitude and self-determination you have.  Self-determination, that’s the second principle of Kwanzaa, the week-long celebration from December 26th through January 2nd that people embrace to improve their life, yet most never think about it until it’s time to begin the celebration again for the next year. That principle is what I think is the most important one when it comes to achieving the goal of losing weight.

That’s why it didn’t work for this woman. Nothing worked for her. Well, I seldom volunteer my advice or opinion on other people’s life; however, if you solicit my input, I’m going to give it to you straight, in the realest possible way. I asked her what was different this time if she had failed at all those previous attempts to lose weight?  That’s when she gave me that “I’m going to really try and make it work this time.” line. Sooo, she didn’t really try before?

Look, if you have a goal, stop trying to do it.  Just do it. Whatever it is. Just do it.  No more excuses. Stop justifying. Just do it.  I know it’s not easy.  Nothing worth having ever is easy. Make a plan and rejoice in the small, little baby steps along the way.  Each step forward is progress no matter how small. Don’t allow any setbacks to derail you altogether. If you fall off, get back on the wagon.  Stay with it. Okay?  You hear what I’m saying?  You feel me?  That person you see in the mirror is the only thing stopping you, standing in your way. What are you going to do about it?

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What It Means to Try

Leave a Reply

