WOW, Captain and Tennille Are Divorcing

Image

I try not to devote much attention on my blog to pop culture and what’s going on in their personal lives. But sometimes a story catches my eye that is important to me. This is one of them.

If you hadn’t heard, the Captain and Tennille, a.k.a. Toni Tennille and Daryl Dragon, are getting a divorce after 39 ½ years of marriage. What an awful long time to be married, only for it to come to an end.  Two of their biggest hits are Muskrat Love and Love Will Keep us Together.  I grew up on their music.  I remember seeing them perform on hit shows like Soul Train, American Bandstand, and other shows featuring the music of pop stars.  All I can think of are the lyrics, “It’s beautiful to watch love begin, but oh so sad when it ends…”

On their blog, details of the Captain’s health are outlined.  He apparently has been dealing with a Parkinsons-like neurological disorder that has kept him from being able to perform and tour like he wants to, and evidently like SHE wants him to.  I sure hope that’s not why Tennille wants a divorce.  She mentions in the blog that that’s the one thing that didn’t work out the way she had hoped, and I trust that she isn’t suggesting that’s her reason for the divorce. Whatever caused the break-up, I wish them both happiness, and improved health for Daryl.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in Captain and Tennille Divorce, peace and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

