Sorry I Missed Your Text!

I did something today that I hadn’t done in a very long time.  I was in such a hurry that I left home and forgot to grab my iPhone. How liberating that has been.  I usually take time to read news stories and articles, books on my Nook reader, play games (Words With Friends, Scramble With Friends, Ruzzle, Hanging With Friends, and a couple of others), and many other tasks. I write in my blog, pay bills, do research online, read emails, and all sorts of things.  When I was in my all online grad school program, I would even use my phone to read lessons.  I seldom use it for a phone.  But I sure do a lot of others things.  I found that I zone out from the world around me so deeply, that I don’t always know what’s going on.

So, I forgot it, left it on the night table by my bed.  I realized it after I had driven about a half block from home.  I could have gone back for it – have done so in the past – but I decided that I’d just do without.  It really has been very liberating.  Not having my phone in my hand all the time has been quite relaxing.  Then, I came upon a news article on this very topic that highlights cell phone use. The article points out that the average person reaches for their phone more than 150 times each day. I can believe that. I think some people probably never put their phones down.

It’s been good for me not having it, though.  Sure, I may have missed a few messages but so what?  If you sent me a text, sorry. I’ll get back to you later.  And I’m sure the only calls I got are nuisance calls (i.e., charities seeking donations, politicians looking for contributors, or businesses trying to sell me something). So, what did I really miss?  Not much. I need to practice leaving my phone more often.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in cell phone, goal setting, happiness, iPhone and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sorry I Missed Your Text!

  1. I think it’s great to be intentional. Have you hea rd Oprah’s just say hello movement???
    Any good apps?

    Like

  2. I hadn’t heard of that movement from Oprah. I’ll have to look it up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

