Awards Shows

Can you believe I’ve never seen an Emmy’s? I pass on the Oscar’s.  I skip the Grammy’s.  I have never been much on any awards, except for academic awards. I don’t watch any of these awards; however, many people I know never miss them. When they’re on, my Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram timeline is filled with posts (a play-by-play) of who got what award and who SHOULDN’T have gotten one.  Much of the timeline also includes about who was wearing a crazy outfit or why doesn’t so-and-so’s spouse ever accompany them at these formal events.  So, if I REALLY was interested, social media would tell me everything I need to know about what went on during the show.

But I’m not interested.  I cannot tell you why I don’t watch, other than just not being interested.  I’ll be honest with you.  For me, part of it is sort of like watching golf.  Maybe a better analogy is that it’s like watching paint dry or watching grass grow.  .  .  very painstaking.  Different people find joys in different things.  I find no joy in awards shows.  Another reason I don’t care for them is, I think a lot of it is less about ability and more about popularity. 

Frankly, I think these shows ought to exclude seasoned actors.  The likes of Leonardo DiCaprio or Kate Gosselin or Tom Hanks or Demi Moore shouldn’t be eligible.  These awards should be for the greats among new comers, people still on their rise to stardom.  There’s no appeal as a fan, a viewer, a spectator to see someone in the business for a couple of decades get an award for best supporting actor in a dramatic series or best actor in a leading role. Isn’t that why they pay them for their 7 figures? They get paid just for their name alone…so presumably they can draw a bigger crowd and make the studio more money.  These kats are supposed to be stellar. They get paid for their stellarness.   I know, I know, that’s not a real word.  But it reflect the point I’m trying to make here. 

I’d love to see them excluded, making more room for all the newbies.  I’m certain it won’t ever change.  I’m sure we’ll always have repeat winners, over and over again for years — decades —  such as Cate Blanchett, Matthew McConaughey, Hugh Jackman or Helen Hunt.  When new actors enter the field, it’s awfully difficult for them to get noticed.  Many great actors never get noticed.  They’re over shadowed by people due to their long history in the field.  Maybe someone will propose an award show solely for new actors. Best new actor in a dramatic series with the only eligible people are those actors in the field less than 2 years.  Then that’s fair.  Now, it’s not fair in my opinion, if a newbie is fortunate enough to land a leading role.  That’s why I skip the awards.  The scale is tipped toward the veterans.  Samuel L. Jackson is a great actor, and I’ve seen most of his films (I think he deserves the recognition he gets) but I don’t think he or any other actor should automatically get favor merely because they were fabulous in their last film.  But unfortunately, that’s how it is.

Too bad, if you ask me. 

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in award shows and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

