Blind Dates: Love ’em or Hate ’em

On the train home from work, two women (one married, one not) sitting near me were talking about dating.  The married woman offered to introduce her cousin to the other woman who was singing the “I can’t find a man.”  blues.   But she declined the offer. “No way,” she replied, “because blind dates are always a disaster.”  Her comment would have been fine, in my mind, if it ended there.  But then, she went on to talk about an upcoming date she had with someone that she found on the dating Internet site, eHarmony.com. I badly wanted to ask her what she thought an Internet date was if not a blind date?

Going out with someone you meet online is indeed a blind date.  In fact, I think an internet date is more blind than being introduced to someone by a friend. That’s what the married lady said to the other. But the single woman didn’t think so. This poor misguided woman seemed to think an internet date isn’t really blind because you have to fill out a complete profile with details on your background.  I guess people who create such profile never lie.   Tsk, tsk, tsk.

But, what’s with the opposition to a blind date?  If it doesn’t work out, you never have to see each other again. Worst case scenario, you waste an hour of your time.  That’s not a big deal is it?  I don’t think so.  Thankfully I’m married and don’t have to worry about it.  But I was always open to meet anyone on neutral grounds, in a public place.  My motto was always, “A stranger is just a friend you haven’t met yet.” That’s attributed to Will Rogers.  I like that saying.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in Blind Dates and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blind Dates: Love ’em or Hate ’em

  1. The way I see it, everyone is a blind date until you really get to know them. So, I support them. If it doesn’t work out, you never have to see each other again. You can even politely excuse yourself if things are really bad.

    Like

Leave a Reply

