The Use of Pharrell’s Happy to Start a Meeting

 

I’m always excited when I go into a seminar or workshop and the presenter is a lively, original, and creative orator rather than one who bores everyone by merely reading it verbatim with an unchanging monotone. Most presenters are somewhere in between.  I was a participant in a class for work the other day, and at the very beginning, the presenter played Happy by Pharrell Williams, and the presenter even encouraged everyone to stand,  to clap along, and to dance and sing. I did just that, and no, I didn’t feel silly at all.

He didn’t play the whole thing, but the point of it was just to wake people up – literally and figuratively – so they would be better able to receive the presentation’s message.  It was an HR briefing meant to illustrate that not everyone is happy and that we should search for creative ways to cope with life’s problems.  I think up-beat music is surely one effective way to do it.

There’s nothing unique about this song over any other.  Actually, any content would have worked in order for the presenter to make his point. But I’m glad he chose Happy. Unlike a lot of people who say they tire of it (it’s played all the time on TV, radio, in product jingles – they say the market is oversaturated with Happy), I don’t mind. Over saturate all you want to, in my opinion. This song gives me sooooo much.  Just between you and me, I even have it for my wake-up alarm. I think I’ll have a listen to it right now.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in Good Presenters, Happy, Meetings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

