Knowledge for Knowledge’s Sake

I love knowledge.  I’m one of those people who embraces knowledge for knowledge’s own sake. In fact, I strongly support the discovery and sharing of information for no other reason than to learn and know.  If you can make some practical uses of that knowledge, then that’s a bonus. But I love what new information does to shape my world’s view.

I’m saying this to say that I recently did some research after reading some medical journal blurbs about the presence of a prostate in some women. Although it’s not terribly common, a prostate in women is not new.  They’re called paraurethral glands, or the skene glands, named for the gynecologist who first discovered their presence in 1880, a man by the name of Alexander Skene, a renowned doctor from Scotland who specialized in diseases of women. Dr. Skene discovered these glands in women that he found akin to the prostate in men.  Surprisingly to me, and probably will be to a lot of people, these paraurethral glands are physiologically and structurally akin to the male prostate, and even have some of the same enzymes and serve as key markers for several forms of cancer.  Most surprising to me is that some women with these glands have been diagnosed with prostate cancer.

I suppose if men can get breast cancer, women can get prostate cancer.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in Paraurethral Glands and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

