Be A Blessing To Be Blessed: Part I

Be A Blessing To Be Blessed: Part I

A buddy of mine Jamaal Bivens is the first person I ever heard use the phrase, “Be A Blessing to be Blessed” probably as far back as 2004 or 2005.  But I don’t know if he was the originator. I’ve since encountered lots of people who say it. but the concept is age old, tantamount to the Golden Rule, sowing the seeds you plant, Karma, or other similar mantras.  But as far as I’m concerned, I’ll credit Jamaal with this phrase, since he’s the first one I know of to ever say it. I liked it then, and I still like it today: Be a blessing to be blessed. You never know when or where you’ll have the opportunity to be someone’s blessing.  An incident on the train while en route to work last month reminded me just how true that is.

It was Thursday, March 6. The day following the first day of the beginning of Lenten Season. I was a blessing to a stranger.  I was reading my Bible, studying passages on the topic of Lent, thinking and reflecting and praying.  After I was done, about ten minutes later, a lady sitting across from me with a troubled look on her face asked me to pray for her and her family.  Times have been very hard for them, and she proceeded to tell me about her father who had passed away the day before. She was headed to Texas to the funeral, as I looked down to see her suitcase on wheels.  Joseph Martin “Marty” Green was her father’s name.  I asked her his name so I could speak it in my prayer.  I took a few moments and said a prayer for the survivors of Marty Green.  The lady was very grateful.

It just shows that it doesn’t take much to put a smile in someone’s heart and make their day. She didn’t know me, but she felt empty and asked me to pray for her family. What I did for that lady in just those few short minutes was beyond measure to her. Sometimes the littlest things can have the hugest impact. I had no idea that anybody was watching me as I was in my own prayer and meditation world.  But that lady was watching me.  I guess someone is always watching us everywhere we go and for everything we do.  I’m glad that I was doing something meaningful, meaningful enough to add value to the life of a stranger. I think that is simply extraordinary, and it made me feel good to do good.

Be a blessing to be blessed, even if you’re blessing the life of a stranger – especially if it’s a stranger.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in Bible, blessings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Be A Blessing To Be Blessed: Part I

  1. Pingback: Be a Blessing to Be Blessed: Part IV | The Mind's Eye

  2. Pingback: Be a Blessing to Be Blessed: Part V | The Mind's Eye – Musings of Will Saunders

Leave a Reply

