Be A Blessing to Be Blessed: Part II

Be A Blessing to Be Blessed: Part II

The unintended consequence of kindness

The other morning on my way to work, I stopped at Au Bon Pain on 10th St. NW in DC across the street from my job to get a cup of coffee.  When I was in line paying for it, a woman in line behind me comically said, “you should buy mine too.”  I looked up to see a woman who works on my floor.  I don’ t know her name.  She had a coffee and some sort of pastry. I looked at her, smiled, and said, “sure” as I proceeded to pay the cashier for the purchase, telling the cashier to add this woman’s order to mine.

Well, you should have seen her face crack.  Apparently she really was only joking and seemed incessantly embarrassed. Some people might use the phrase, “She was trying to be cute.” when she asked me to pay for her order. She’s not one of my work buddies, so it was certainly not an expectation for me or for her that I would have graciously covered her tab.  (If she really knew me though, she would have known that my kindness extends far beyond the smile and daily “good mornings” she gets from me every day as I pass her in the halls at work.)  But, my good-naturedness caused her face to crack, and I’d never intentionally want to do that to anybody.  But kindness always has a price, even an unintended one.

But nonetheless, like I always say, “Never miss an opportunity to be somebody’s blessing.”  I never know when I’ll need my own blessing.  So, I like to store them up.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in Gratuities, happiness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Be A Blessing to Be Blessed: Part II

  1. Pingback: Be a Blessing to Be Blessed: Part IV | The Mind's Eye

  2. Pingback: Be a Blessing to Be Blessed: Part V | The Mind's Eye – Musings of Will Saunders

Leave a Reply

