Perception is Everything

Perception is Everything

Online banking is the best thing to help me take better control of my accounts and track things rather frequently. I log in all the time, almost as if I’m paranoid. A part of me is a little paranoid.

Once a few years ago, I just happened to notice that every 4-6 days a charge of $9.48 appeared on my statement. The first time, I didn’t pay any attention to it.  But then it kept appearing every few days.  Then I did a little digging and realized it was a foreign company I had never heard of charging my account. Thankfully I checked.  I took the proper steps and all my money was refunded to me. Over a period of 47 days, they hit my account 14 times.  If you do the math, that’s $132.72.  Just imagine the number of people who never check their account.  For many who do check, they likely never report it.  $9.48 charge every several days isn’t as noticeable as a lump sum charge of $132.72.

Consequently, I check very faithfully.  Boy was I surprised to see a charge for what I thought was Bank of America Online. I never knew that America Online had a bank.  I went through my accounts and realized several transactions and transaction types were hitting my account.  “Fraud,” I was thinking out loud.

The funny part of this is, I interpreted it so incorrectly.  They were all legitimate transactions for Bank of America online rather than my interpretation of it as “Bank of America Online. I overreacted. Yes, perception really is everything.  The good thing is, my bank is good about investigating transactions when they really are fraudulent. I felt a little silly, all for about 30 seconds.  I’m glad I always check my accounts regularly. I can only imagine the large amount of funds the crooks get merely because people are not diligent about monitoring their accounts.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in bank fraud and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

