I Choose Peace

 

I saw a flier the other day that really made me think.  I can’t recall the words verbatim but the gist of it was, we should remove those people or things from our life that are not in alignment with our inner peace, prosperity, and great physical, mental, and spiritual good.  I stared at it and took in for a long time. Those words were powerful to me. I have tried to tell people this, though I never could articulate it so eloquently.

An associate of mine was having some relationship problems with an adult family member, problems that always seemed to  leave this associate feeling depressed, emotionally drained, and raking up large amounts of debt. I asked him why he didn’t just eliminate this person from his life. His response to me was that it’s not that easy. I asked him what made it so hard, but he didn’t give a coherent answer. But, I understand what he was saying to me. There are consequences to removing someone from your life, even people who are a nightmare. But for me, any consequences are worth it. I don’t need the stress or the chaos that these knuckleheads can cause by keeping them around.

It’s funny to me – not funny ha ha, LOL funny, but funny as in strange – that people would rather foster pain and discourse in their lives by keeping troublemakers around. That’s one thing I don’t thing I’ll ever understand.  Everything in life, I suppose, is all about priorities. A priority for me is stress-free living. I would rather live the life of a hermit, all by myself, than to keep people around me who eat away at my happiness. Furthermore, people need to do more than refrain from whittling away at my happiness; they also need to add some measure of value to my life. It’s not so much of what they do for me but what they mean to me. Why do I need dead weight?  I don’t.

Maybe folks hold on to destructive people because they get something from them. Maybe the destructive people feed their deep, dark, sadistic need to be mistreated and taken advantage of.  Maybe that person feeds a financial need?  Maybe they’ve been in that situation for so long that they don’t know how to live without the drama. They’re afraid of life without the chaos. I wonder if it’s somehow connected to the phenomenon of Stockholm Syndrome. There could be dozens of reasons why they won’t remove a hurtful person from their midst.

My wish for anybody going through this is they wake up and realize how much they’re missing out on life by not eliminating those who are not in alignment with their inner peace, prosperity, and great physical, mental, and spiritual good. Life is certainly much more meaningful for me by living this way.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in happiness, peace and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

