Happy Go Perky

I love it when I see people who embrace happiness.  With all there is around us that we could complain about, it’s refreshing when people realize the inherent beauty in the midst of the chaos.  But my goodness, some people carry it overboard.  There is a woman in the building where I work, whom I’ll call Karla.  She’s always so upbeat and jolly that it makes me think she’s on something.  She’s what I’d call perky.  Her temperament always seems like she’s not even real. She is overly happy and excited, sort of in a pseudo-manic state. Perky is definitely what she is.

This dictionary defines perky as a “display of excessive exuberance and cheerfulness; animated or bubbly.” That sounds about right. Karla is that way all the time, every day, all day long. Even when she’s expressing dismay or disappointment about things, she does it in a cheerful, happy, jovial manner…a tone that doesn’t match the emotions she’s trying to convey. She’s like the Happy Energizer Bunny Rabbit.  She keeps going and going and going with her perkiness.  I’m all for being happy. In fact, I’m one of the few people who doesn’t tire of that Pharrell song, HappyI generally do “feel like a room without a roof,”     but like anything in life, shouldn’t there be a limit?  Too much “Happy” is annoying.  Always being bubbly and animated is almost as annoying as the other extreme of being a sour puss all the time.

Over time, I imagine that people who behave this way eventually crash.  In fact, I recall reading something about this very topic.  In an article titled, Happiness Can Make You Unhappy, too much happiness can give people a false sense of hope, sometimes leading to depression.  These folks do not always face reality. In a similar article, Happiness Causes Depression, researchers found that, “[too] much happiness [can] make you gullible, selfish, less successful and, in some cases, suicidal.”  Often, these folk unravel the happiness of those around them.

There needs to be balance. If we don’t have balance, we need to create it.  I hope that Karla finds it. I don’t think it’s healthy to be that way.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in Happy, health, Personal Peace, Stress and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Go Perky

  1. shunpwrites says:

    I have to agree with you wholeheartedly. Sometimes I’m inclined to meet happy with a quick chop to the larynx.

    Thanks for putting words to something that I’ve pushed to the recesses of my mind for far too long!

    Like

Leave a Reply

