Saved By The Bell: Reloaded, Well Sort Of

Saved By The Bell: Reloaded, Well Sort Of

Jesse, Lisa, Kelly, Zach, Slater, and Screech

I swear, Hollywood can’t buy any creativity or originality.  Isn’t that the cornerstone of the work of writers, directors, producers?  So, what I’m talking about is the proposal for an upcoming biopic on Saved by the Bell that will air on the Lifetime cable network in September, 2014.  As much as I loved that show – it kept me busy on Saturday mornings LMAO – I am not feeling all warm and fuzzy about it. According to TV Guide, the air date is Labor Day, September 1, 2014.

This film, “The Unauthorized Saved By the Bell Story,” is more than just a movie-length story that extends the television show.  It’s being billed as a behind the scenes look at the antics that took place on the set. In other words, it is about the lives of the actors and not about the characters they portrayed.  Maybe if it were a fictionalized story about the characters, then I might be more inclined to support it. The greatest deterrent for me is that much of the body of this film is taken from interviews and excerpts taken from Dustin Diamond’s 2009 book Behind the Bell, which sheds a dark view of the cast, from rampant drug use and cast members being sexually loose and promiscuous with each other. (Note: I debated leaving that last part out.  One sure way to get some people to watch a movie is to tell them it has lots of drugs and sex in it.  I wouldn’t want to encourage anybody.) That much of the content for the movie came from Dustin’s book is reason enough for me not to watch.  Anyone who has paid attention to him through the years knows about his unhappiness and ill feelings. Who knows? Maybe the final edition will be cleaned up a bit.

I do not recognize any of the names of the actors portraying the six main characters, although that’s not saying much since I don’t watch a lot of television these days.  But anyhow, the actors are: (1) Dylan Everett (Degrassi: The Next Generation) as Mark-Paul Gosselaar; (2) Sam Kindseth (Shameless) as Dustin Diamond; Tiera Skovbye (Supernatural) as Elizabeth Berkley; Julian Works as Mario Lopez; Alyssa Lynch as Tiffani-Amber Thiessen; and Taylor Russell McKenzie as Lark Voorhies.

I predict it will be a flop and poorly received.  We’ll find out. It’s just two and a half months away.

 

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in Saved By The Bell and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

