The Logic Model

If you’re not familiar with the Logic Model, it’s a methodology used in program reviews/evaluation.  It’s fairly popular actually.  That’s one of my primary job responsibilities.  So, I’m looking at newly released resources so I can keep abreast.   Before I buy anything, I love checking out reviews of others and their experiences.   But before I do that, I usually go to Google.  In this case, I asked Google to tell me the best books on the Logic Model.

The top book that returned in the search results and one that was on my very short list of books ironically, is titled, The Logic Model Guidebook: Better Strategies for Great Results, by Lisa Wyatt Knowlton.  As I read the reviews, I was impressed to see one after another, from one website to the next, with highly glowing praises about the book.  Every review that I could find offered good to excellent ratings in the feedback.  .  . except one.  This one reviewer wrote, “I think this is the worst book I have ever read.” I wondered if this reviewer was reading the same book as everyone else.  How do several people rave about  something but one lone wolf’s opinion is on the opposite extreme, rating it as the worse? Yes, the other reviews may have identified one or two things that could have been better about the book; however they gave it an overall favorable rating.

I see this often when I read reviews. Whether it’s a review for a product, a restaurant, or some other product or service, I will never understand how one person can have an opinion that is so vastly different than that of everyone else.  Perhaps it’s like one of my coworkers strongly believes: that online reviews are all rigged and that vendors have paid reviewers for their ratings when there are an abundance of positive ones — vendor’s competitor paid people to leave unfavorable ratings.  It would not surprise me to learn that that’s actually true.

What about you?  Are you familiar with this book?  If so, I’d love your thoughts.

 

 

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in Logic Model, Online Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Logic Model

  1. Hello willboywonder,

    I found your blog based on a comment you left on one of my blog entries a while back and wanted to check yours out in return.

    To answer the posed question, I do believe that there are a ton of reviews that are fake, paid for, etc. I would even go so far as to say that some of the negative ones are fake as well in order to make the total number of reviews seem balanced and more realistic. Honestly, when is everyone on the same page about loving a book, song, or movie?

    When reading the comments or reviews, I look for depth to see if the commenter sounds like they actually are familiar with the item they are reviewing. If the only thing they wrote was, “I think this is the worst book I have ever read,” but didn’t give any examples as to why they thought that, I would question the validity of the review even though it’s negative.

    On the other hand, people’s perceptions are based on their own experiences. If the reviewer believes to have more knowledge than the author or their views are vastly different, it’s perfectly normal for that one person to greatly dislike the effort while other people rave about it.

    Michael Rochelle
    http://www.justmichael.net/blog

    Like

  2. Hi Michael, you make great points. I’m beginning to see that not all reviews are genuine for the reasons you mentioned. Whenever I leave reviews, I’m always specific and offer meaning behind my comments. I don’t just say vague, nebulous things like the service was bad or the technician came to my house late. I’m careful to give details. Furthermore, when you’re vague, many companies try to sue to make you remove the comments. If you can present facts, that’s not likely to happen. If they gave you an appointment window of 8-10 and they showed up at 12 without a phone call, then say that. Don’t say they were late. If you give factual data to support your comments, that’s more meaningful for the next person who is looking for some good feedback to help them make a sound decision. Thanks for your remarks. Cheers!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

