Making Excuses

dsc_0619fluf-lunch-bag

I often make a lunch and take it to work. I find that doing so helps me serve two purposes. First, it saves a tone of money. I computed just how much. If I go out and buy lunch everyday, it costs me about $180 monthly. Taking lunch everyday, I spend about $85 monthly. That’s a savings of $95. I had gone a period of about 2 years of only taking lunch without going out at all. Boy, I was so proud of myself. I put the $95 per month I saved aside, and after I had accumulated about $800, I treated myself to shopping spree. I felt I surely had earned it.

The other purpose of taking my lunch is to have a more healthy lunch. The wide array of cafes and delis around work do not offer much in the way of low calorie, hearth healthy options. Even when I do find some that are low calorie, they often have a high fat and high sodium count. So, bringing my lunch seems like the best option for me.

Coworkers obviously notice I bring my lunch. I used to always go out to eat lunch with them, but I eventually stopped going. I realized how expensive it became. For some of them, they go buy breakfast and lunch for most days of the week, all the while complaining how broke they are. A couple of them would comment how impressive it is that I bring my lunch so consistently. I always encourage them, letting them know they could easily do it too. It is amusing to me that a couple of them use the excuse of having the responsibility of kids as their reason for not having sufficient enough time to make lunch. Well, all I could do is laugh at that – not openly, but to myself – as I reflected back to when I was a kid and how my mom always got up early enough to make breakfast and lunch for my siblings and me (and for herself too) and she still was able to leave home in time to get to work by 7:00 am. She didn’t let the fact that she had kids get in her way of doing what she felt needed to be done.

With or without kids, my coworkers could take their lunch everyday, if they so choose. It’s easy to make excuses for not doing something. But the truth is, people usually find a way of accomplishing what’s important to them. For me, it’s habitual. Since I have gotten  into the habit of taking lunch everyday, it has become part of my “getting ready for work” ritual. I prefer it this way.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in agreement, goal setting, making excuses and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Making Excuses

  1. aguywithoutboxers says:

    Good for you and good for your health (and attitude). Besides, if you don’t have the time to make the lunch in the morning, then prepare it the night before. I make it a point to carry lunch with me at least three days a week. Mondays are always my “treat” days and Friday I eat at home. Sound advice, buddy! Much love and naked hugs! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

