I See Rude People!

Most things don’t bother me. I’ve encountered an egregious act here and there; however  I’ll usually stew about it for a minute then I’m quickly over it. But, every now and then, some things really get under my skin. The top of the list of things that get my goat is when people are rude and selfish. I saw an example this morning while riding the train to work.

A gentleman was seated – reading his book – and piled two tote bags and a jacket in the seat next to him. Meanwhile, the train was crowded and filling up fairly quickly. He didn’t move his belongings until a woman asked to sit down. He promptly sighed very heavily and moved his stuff, acting as if he were doing the woman a favor. I sat across watching all of this noting the man’s rudeness. I witness all the time in stores, at work, all over the place. One thing I have observed is rudeness knows no boundaries. I see it from men and women, older folk and younger folk, varying races and ethnic backgrounds, essentially persons from all walks of life. I suppose most people have probably exhibited some form of rudeness, mostly what I call accidental rudeness. But it floors me to see such a large number of people who seem to go out of their way to be rude. Tsk. Tsk. Tsk.

Too bad you can’t be fined for being rude. If people had to dig into their pockets each time they were rude, maybe they’d be less inclined to do so. This reminds me of an elementary school teacher who would give students in her class a $1 dollar bill whenever she saw them being unusually kind and thoughtful to other students. It had a positive impact on some kids, while others were kind and thoughtful regardless of the money the teacher gave them. But then, some of them had rudeness/meanness/selfishness so ingrained in their character, even when money was at stake they still were not courteous and kind. I’d like to see some of those rude kids today.  I wonder whether any of those kids have matured or if they are still just as rude as adults.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in rude people and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I See Rude People!

Leave a Reply

