And the winner is . . .

I’m learning that I must be the only person on earth who isn’t interested in awards shows. From the Emmys to the Oscars to the Golden Globes or any of the other major half dozen or so entertainment awards out there, I am not interested.  It’s funny to me (funny as in weird not funny haha) when someone asks me what I thought about so-n-so winning or if someone wants my opinion of ‘X’ artist’s performance or outfit or if I was offended by their off-color jokes. It’s funny because frankly, I couldn’t care less.  Really, I couldn’t.

I remember several years back, there was a case before Judge Mathis in which person A had accused person B (a former roommate) of stealing his CD collection. There was a dispute about who actually owned the collection. So Judge Mathis tried to be clever by asking one of them to list some of the awards the artists had won over the years, thinking that a true fan would surely be able to give the correct answer. As soon as I heard Judge Mathis ask that, I was thinking I would have lost that case if he was going to base his decision on me knowing the awards my favorite artists won. Just because I enjoy listening to their music doesn’t mean I can tell you their achievements.

So, I digress. Awards shows don’t thrill me.  Well, let me caveat that. I’m not disinterested in all awards. I actually get excited about academic awards like Rhodes Scholars or the President’s Education Awards or the Intel Science Talent Search Awards. Yeah, I’m a nerd like that. But those type of awards don’t make it to network television. If you aren’t fortunate enough to see them in person, you might see a clip of them on the news. It’s an example of the value we place (or fail to place) on academics, but that’s a discussion for another day. When it comes to awards to those in the entertainment industry, I am not interested. The only exception would be for the Tony Awards, which are those awards recognizing excellence in live Broadway Theater. I’m a Broadway snob and like to check out awards given to some of my favorite shows and performers. But, even then, my interest would wane quickly.

Even though I’m not really interested, I applaud the winners. Hooray for them. But don’t be surprised if I have a confused look on my face when you start talking to me about them. I’ll probably have no idea what you’re talking about.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in award, Golden Globe Awards and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to And the winner is . . .

  1. aguywithoutboxers says:

    Hooray for you! I am the same way! In the office today, I was clueless when last night’s honors were the topic of discussion. To be honest, I wasn’t even aware they were broadcast until this morning. As far as entertainment goes, I know what I like and what I don’t care for, regardless of who has an honor and who doesn’t. Period. The award doesn’t guarantee the topic or situation interests me. Thank you for having the courage to publicly admit to this indifference. Much love and naked hugs, my blogging buddy! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

