Changes at McDonald’s

I don’t eat a lot of fast food.  But when I do, I try to be mindful of selecting items that are low in empty, dense calories as well as foods low in saturated fats.  For years, McDonald’s had such an item, their Fruit and Walnut Snack.  Its contents are apples, grapes, walnuts, and low-fat vanilla yogurt.  I went to a couple of locations recently and the associates told me they didn’t have any.  What I didn’t know, and what those sales associates didn’t seem to know either, is that this food item was discontinued.  “As always, we are constantly evolving our menu and listening to our customers to meet their changing needs,” spokeswoman Danya Proud said in a statement.

How tragic it was to find that out.  It was an awesome treat for me, as McDonald’s made it available for every meal, all times of the day and night. They already offer few satisfying items that I would classify as low fat, healthy, and low calorie. My opinion is, McDonald’s needs more good wholesome, whole grains, leaner food items to cater to a wider array of eaters.  If you love the fatty, greasy, high calorie burgers and fries, they got you covered.  Well, how about some lentil soup or maybe a vegetable stew? I also like the idea of more salad options.  What about a nice veggie wrap?  I suppose you could order one of their chicken wraps meatless, but go in there and try doing that and the associate will look at you like you’re crazy.

A McDonald's Snack Size Fruit & Walnut Salad

Fruit & Walnut Snack (Photo courtesy of Reuters)

I shouldn’t harp on McDonald’s. It’s not just them. They are just a convenient target, since they stopped serving something that I used to like. It’s a general trend for fast food joints. Though some are better than others, collectively they all have much room for improvement. It really surprises me too that more healthy items aren’t available, given the attention being given these days to obesity as well as the direct link between certain foods and health maladies (i.e., hypertension, cardiopulmonary disease, cancer, arteriosclerosis, etc). You’d think that restaurants, particularly fast food restaurants, would do more to capitalize on healthy menu items.  People get what they can order quickly. I know plenty of people who’d prefer to have a healthy meal they can get quickly and that’s easily accessible; however, since few options are available, they just get what is offered. It’s no wonder that we’re a nation struggling with obesity.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in McDonald's and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Changes at McDonald’s

  1. aguywithoutboxers says:

    An excellent argument, my blogging buddy. All restaurants, not just the fast food variety, need to offer healthier selections. You’re right to point out that it isn’t just McDonald’s that’s guilty (not through any loyalty). That’s the reason I stopped the fast-food option more than a decade ago. Much love and naked hugs! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: More McDonald’s News | The Mind's Eye – Musings of Will Saunders

Leave a Reply

