Games with Friends

One of my favorite pastimes over the past several years has been these addictive games you play via your smartphone or tablet.  There are plenty,  however, I only play a small fraction of them. The ones in my collection are Words with Friends, Scramble with Friends, Hanging with Friends, Ruzzle, Matching with Friends, and I used to play Stampede Run (formerly Running with the Bulls) but it keeps crashing so I’ve given it up. I really, really, really, really liked that one. Really. But alas, no mas. Last weekend, I was told about another one, Trivia Crack and I just downloaded it. It looks like it will be good fun too. I mostly play these games against people that I know, although I have competed against a few random people that the apps select for me.

For all of these games (except Trivia Crack, of course), I have been competing against some of the same people for years, enjoying wins and losses with a core group of great opponents. That old saying about how you win some and you lose some sure does ring true, because I have won and lost. Even when I’m losing, getting really clobbered, I hang in there until the end, as does my core group of friends when I’m the one doing the clobbering. They stick it out no matter how badly I’m beating them. You win some and you lose some.

Occasionally, I’ll encounter someone who resigns the game when they’re losing. That’s such a bad thing to do, very poor sportsmanship. I don’t normally want to play that person again when that happens. In my mind, games are a reflection of life. They make you stronger, build character, and losing is a big part of it.

If you’re reading this and are sitting there scoffing at these sentiments, then this post is definitely meant for you. Except for this one thing, the two of my friends who have resigned in the middle of a game with me are admirable people who I have known for a very long time, people who I greatly admire. I wish they weren’t so quick to quit when they’re losing.  I’ve come back from behind and won, turning around horrible beatings.  Some of my opponents have as well. I kid you not. You never know how something will end.  If the proverbial fat lady isn’t singing, then don’t think you’ve lost (or won).

Can you imagine what life would be like if we gave up and quit – resigned – everything in life that didn’t go our way?  It can be such inspiration to overpower what looks like your defeats and turn them into your victories. Those bumps along the way are necessary.  It’s only because of those rough edges that you’re able to climb that mountain. If it were smooth, you’d slide right off.

If it weren’t for the losses, our appreciation of the wins wouldn’t be as great. Think about it.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in Happy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Games with Friends

  1. aguywithoutboxers says:

    I agree, 100%, my blogging buddy! Great point. There’s also a proverb that goes something like this: “it’s not whether you win or lose but HOW you play the game.” Much love and naked hugs! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

