Weight Loss Pacemaker

A GES Device

 

I’ve been reading a lot lately about these implantable devices being used to help patients with their weight loss activities.   These electronic gadgets, referred to as weight loss pacemakers, or Gastric electrical stimulation (GES) by its technical name, is a minimally invasive method for treating obesity, particularly the morbidly obese.  According to NIH-approved studies, these GES devices are safe and effective.

Supposedly the gadget sends messages to the brain so people do not feel hungry when they otherwise would still continue to eat.  Things of this sort scare me. I know losing weight is not as simple as someone just deciding to eat less. However, I would be apprehensive of having something implanted in my body and communicating with my brain to tell me to stop eating.  Apparently this has been effective and people have attributed their weight loss to these devices.

If these GES implants have been effective in dealing with obesity, perhaps it can be equally as effective for other things. I wonder if it would work for drug addicts or alcoholics.  The recidivism rate for sex offenders is quite high. Would this kind of device help those deviants too?   How about people who don’t pay their bills? I know we all know people like that.  The deadbeats always have money to go shopping or go on vacation or to buy some new electronics.  But when it comes to repaying the people they owe, they are always broke. Maybe we could implant such a device into those habitual deadbeats so it will send a message to their brains to pay their bills. Maybe the default rate would decrease and we’d see fewer foreclosures and repossessions.

Of course I jest about the deadbeats, but I think there are many uses for such a device.  I know it’s a form of mind control, but many people are mindless anyhow, with the influx of technology so heavily into our lives.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in Weight Loss Pacemaker and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Weight Loss Pacemaker

  1. aguywithoutboxers says:

    Interesting observations, my blogging buddy. I’m a little surprised with the success rate over weight loss. Given that obesity is usually a behavior problem, I always thought it best addressed by protocols that impacted both diet and behavior. Thanks for sharing this, my gay brother! Much love and naked hugs! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for replying. You are correct.

      Liked by 1 person

      • pharmaceutical companies make their profits by convincing people that they are too weak to achieve success on their own. So they come up with all kinds of medical procedures and gadgets and bills to take the control away from them. I personally think people can be very successful with behavior changes. I’ve seen many very much overweight people lose weight through lifestyle changes. But when you have someone struggling to lose weight and they receive the messages from companies telling them they can’t do it alone, they begin to believe those messages. They give in and are willing to spend money. That’s where I originally was headed when I first sat down to write this post, but as you know, once you begin to write, things sometimes end up going into another direction. lol

        Like

      • aguywithoutboxers says:

        The pleasure is mine, my friend!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. we are in capitalism. People fall prey to the ads.

    Like

Leave a Reply

