My First Time!

artichokes_bkgrd

Artichoke, also known as Globe Artichoke

 

This past weekend, I did something that I had never done before: I cooked fresh artichoke.  I love its flavor, but thinking about cutting and preparing one has always seemed rather intimidating and daunting.  I suppose the horror is in the lack of knowledge.  Even with the various Youtube videos and recipe web sites I visited, I still wasn’t sure what to do. But, I finally broke down and gave it a try.

I’m not sure whether I did it correctly, but it was alright in the mixed vegetable dish I made (it was alright, not great); it wasn’t a disaster and I enjoyed the meal, so that’s what really matters. I think I ate a part of it that many people discard. One of the sites i visited indicated that some of the external artichoke leaves are a tad bit strong (oftentimes bitter) even though many people enjoy eating those parts anyway. I wasn’t sure which parts to keep, which parts to throw away. Artichoke isn’t something that was ever served in my home growing up. My mother never served it, and I also don’t ever recall either of my grandparents serving it. None of my aunts or uncles ever served it either, as best I can recall. Thinking back, that’s rather odd, because my family was always a big vegetable eater. That’s why I’m such a big vegetable eater.

Occasionally, I’ll take food (vegetables) to work for lunch that some of my coworkers have never eater, some never even heard of before such as rutabagas, turnips – the root and not the greens – or jicama). Vegetables were always a big part of my childhood, so it’s surprising to me that we never had artichoke. If I had never had a potato, it wouldn’t be hard to figure out how to clean and cook it. But the artichoke is different.

For most things, I tend to be a hands-on learner. I’m a great student. Show me what I need to do, and I’ll become a certified expert. Unfortunately, I never had anyone give me a lesson on preparing an artichoke.

I’m learning by trial and error, though. But, that can be dangerous. Most people whose food item does not turn out the greatest doesn’t usually ever try it again. Well, I’m not that person. I will give things another try or two before I give up. I know a couple of chefs, but I’d feel rather silly asking them, sort of like seeking advice from a lawyer or doctor while at a party. Isn’t that funny?

I suppose I could buy it already cut up. But that’s certainly much more expensive. They make you pay for convenience. I’ll get it together eventually. I love the flavor of artichoke. Information is power. I need just a little bit more information on this, and I’ll be set.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in artichokes, lessons, vegetables and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My First Time!

  1. aguywithoutboxers says:

    Good for you, my friend! Taking the challenge and overcoming obstacles. I’m very intimidated by any culinary task more sophisticated than boiling water, so I admire your courage. Great job! Maybe someday…! Much love and naked hugs! 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Practice Makes Perfect | The Mind's Eye – Musings of Will Saunders

Leave a Reply

