Don’t Be Late

be-on-time

I attended a training/workshop at work this morning. It was a three-hour session that was quite lively and interactive. I learned a lot and feel I benefited greatly from it.

So, the training was due to start at 9:00. About 9:03, one of the presenters (there were two) announced, “We’ll wait just a few minutes for everyone else to get here.” That eats me up. The minute I think I have found my biggest pet peeve in life, something else happens to remind me of an even bigger pet peeve. Right now, I think that’s it. Those of us who were on time are being penalized for being punctual. The ones who always show up late probably are thinking, “Oh, I don’t need to rush. They won’t start on time.”

It’s very disrespectful to the presenters and thoughtless to the other participants when you flounce into events late. But it’s even worse, in my opinion, when you’re hosting an event and you delay the start time because everyone isn’t there. When you start events late, that teaches people to show up late for future events, and it becomes a cycle of starting late, so people continue to show up late, and presenters continue to start late to accommodate latecomers.

If you are a facilitator and your event is scheduled to begin at “X” hour and there are only  3 people in your audience, then so be it. Don’t delay or dawdle. Go ahead and get started. The number one rule for events should always be, “START ON TIME NO MATTER WHAT.” But, few people will get this message.

 

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in be on time, tardiness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Don’t Be Late

  1. aguywithoutboxers says:

    I agree with you 100%! BTW: I was on time when Aaron and I left on a mini-holiday last Sunday morning! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

