Visualization

 

“If you believe, you can achieve.” ~ Tupac Shakur ~

Visualization. What is that? I’m thinking about the people who might plop down a few dollars for ticket to win the 145 million dollar PowerBall jackpot. I’ve heard people talk about what they’d do if they won. They talk about the kind of car they might buy or the distant lands they would like to visit. Some say they’d buy their parents a new car, help out struggling friends, or start a college fund for their nieces and nephews. To be honest, I’ve visualized similar sorts of things for myself.

It’s fantasy. The odd thing about it, most people freely understand the concept of visualizing things like a lottery jackpot and other far-reaching things when there is usually a snowball’s chance in hell of them ever happening. But when it comes to things in their life over which they have direct control, they don’t seem to buy into visualizing. I have had conversations with people who ask me for health, fitness, nutrition, and weight-loss tips as we move into spring. I’m not a personal trainer or dietician, but I have some good ideas. I have maintained progress on my own goals, sans the few times I’ve faltered a little bit. But I tend to stay on my goal fairly consistently, and I love helping others. That helps to keep me motivated. The top tip I often share is this. VISUALIZATION.

When I say visualization in this context, I am talking about a lot of things. You need to visualize yourself at your ideal weight whether you need to lose 10 pounds or 100 pounds. You must visualize yourself at your target size. Visualize yourself eating a healthy breakfast, lunch, and dinner every day. Visualize yourself having at least 5 servings each of fruits, vegetables, and whole grains per day. Visualize yourself having healthy, low-fat snacks between meals. Visualize yourself being more mobile and increasing your physical activity. Lastly, visualize that you are doing these things for the rest of your life.

Even if you do not really believe, deep in your heart, that you can achieve these things, you need to see yourself doing them. Just with like the lottery, people visualize that new car or the mansion filled with servants, things that are not very likely to ever happen, you need to visualize your healthy life the same way. That’s the first step. Do not worry that you don’t believe in yourself. That’s normal. But, for each little, teeny-tiny baby step you make, that’s progress. Over time, you will feel a little more confident, and that will help you believe more in yourself. You, of course, need to put in some muscle to make it happen. But it all starts by first visualizing it.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in Visualization and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

