Slideshow Rant

I seldom pick up a newspaper. In fact, it’s been years since I touched one. I prefer getting my news digitally. Online articles and journals are better for me, as I can read them more quickly, especially when I am on the train or waiting in the DMV or doctor’s office or any other place where I find myself sitting around waiting.

So, when I see an article, such as “10 Tips to Improve Your Career,” and once I open it and begin to read it, I discover the article is a slideshow. What that means is, the article won’t simply list the 10 tips on one page. Noooo. That’s too easy, I guess. Instead, each tip is on a separate page, and I must scroll through each page in order to read the whole thing. Geez. I find that annoying. Why can’t they put them on the same page? The oddity is, it’s becoming common for online publications to do this. I saw a couple of others recently that I wanted to read: 14 Child Stars Who Became Successful Adults.

The other one is 5 debt and saving tips for 20-somethings. Yeah, I know I’m far from being a 20 something, thank you very much. But the tips are good for people at any age, especially the last one. Anyhow, the point is, both of these articles were again, slideshows. So, rather than glance at these things on a single page, I had to click through each one to see the articles in their entirety. Online editors should give viewers the option to view the content either as text or as a slideshow. It’s all about making the customer happy, or at least it ought to be about making the customer happy, shouldn’t it?

I know you’re thinking it’s no big deal and I should get over it, aren’t you? I can hear you now. But this is an easy fix with technology being the way it is. Online content can easily be manipulated to do anything you need it to do. I would say this is motivation to go back to reading the news in the old fashioned way, but regular papers are so passé. I like the way online news can be quickly modified when there is an update to a story – or be removed completely if the story is wrong or contains inaccuracies. Besides, standard newspapers are slowing folding, as readers/subscriptions are dwindling.

Online news is the way. I just wish more sites made their content more user friendly. Since it’s free, I have little room to complain. But ranting sure feels good.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in NEWS, News Media, Online News, Slideshows and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slideshow Rant

  1. A Guy Without Boxers says:

    I agree, Will! Sometimes a quick view is all the reader is seeking. Thanks for publishing this! Much love and many naked hugs! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

