Grown Children

When you go to a meeting at work, why would you fail to take pen and paper? I attended a meeting earlier this week and two people did exactly that. Beforehand, when I saw them headed toward the meeting room, the busybody part of me wanted to ask, “Aren’t you going to take a notepad and something to write with?” But the new me has learned to mind my own business. It was hard biting my tongue. Well, about 10 minutes into the meeting, both of them began looking around, reaching for paper from their neighbors. One of them was “sharing” a pen with the person sitting beside her. We can do such seemingly small things that are very thoughtless and impact other people negatively. Their fumbling around trying to find paper and pen was disruptive, inconsiderate, and could easily have been avoided had they bothered to bring pen and paper with them.

This takes me back to grade school as I recall those students, usually troublemakers, who came to class without any books, pens, or paper. Those kids would also borrow pen and paper from their neighbor. It wouldn’t surprise me at all to learn that these grow people at work were those same students who came to class empty-handed. I’m convinced that many of our behaviors as adults have carried over from childhood – both the good and the bad.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in Grown Children and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grown Children

  1. A Guy Without Boxers says:

    Hey buddy, thanks for writing on a topic that has baffled me for years. How can such people consider themselves professional? Isn’t part of the job performance on being prepared? Great post, Will! Much love and many naked hugs! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The busybody in you-that’s hilarious! Next time have a few extra pens 🙂 you won’t get paid to babysit but at least you went the extra mile!

    Like

Leave a Reply

