Season of Gratitude!

Each day provides an opportunity for me to see the blessings I have. I can’t tell you the number of people I’ve encountered lately, either at work or among my friends or peer groups, who require the use of a cane, crutches, orthopedic boots, or other type of prosthesis – people of varying ages. I saw someone new in the hall at work yesterday who is now using a cane. He’s still a young man, and he could barely walk even with the cane. Thank God I am beyond blessed that I don’t have this issue and I empathize with those who do. It can become easy to take our lives for granted. That is the prime reason why I don’t expend a lot of energy complaining about my strife. Sure, life could always be much better, but it could also be worse. I’ve allowed a number of life changes to take my focus away from recognizing my gratitude for all that I am and for all that I have. Several years ago, I maintained a daily gratitude journal. I made an entry everyday for three years without fail. I recorded big things, little things, and everything in between. It was a good reminder to me of the many things for which I was thankful. It’s time to get back to doing it again. My mind and spirit were in a much higher place then. I think that is what’s missing. There’s a big hole – a void in my life; keeping this journal will be just the thing I need to get back on track. There is much improvement needed in many areas, and a gratitude journal has previously been the tool to keep me headed in the right direction. I’m reminded of an affirmation I have embraced from one of Oprah’s Life Class sessions. It goes like this: “You are responsible for YOUR life; and if you’re sitting around waiting on somebody to save you, to fix you, to even help you, you’re wasting your time because only you have the power to take responsibility to move your life forward. The sooner you get that, the sooner your life gets into gear.”  Yep. this is the kick I need. Resuming my gratitude journal is the first step for me to take responsibility to move my life forward. I’m starting it today, May 29, 2015. How will you move YOUR life forward? If you’re not sure or if what you’ve been doing hasn’t been very effective, try maintaining a gratitude journal. That just may be the key.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in blessings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Season of Gratitude!

  1. A Guy Without Boxers says:

    Bravo Will! Awesome advice and perfect timing (now that the New Year is a distant memory and enthusiasm for all those resolutions has long since faded away). Amazing post and a superlative idea on the blessings journal: a positive tool to kick-off the summer season. Much love and many naked hugs, my friend! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

