Homemade Marinara Sauce

IMG_2610-1-850x566

Fit Men Cook’s Roasted Butternut Squash Marinara

Lately, I’ve been making my own marinara sauce. I got started by following a Roasted Butternut Squash Marinara sauce recipe I saw on the Fit Men Cook food and recipe blog. It was so good and simple I decided to stop buying sauce in a jar and make my own. For the past several weeks, I’ve been making my sauce and I’ve even begun to experiment with different things. I make plain sauce, tomato basil, oregano and mushroom, roasted garlic and thyme, and any other flavors that I have enjoyed from some of the popular commercial companies that make sauces.

The good thing is, it works well on anything. I’ve used it for spaghetti, pizza, ziti, tacos, or casseroles, and by adjusting the thickness it also makes for a great soup. Making it a little thicker, it’s great for dipping tortilla chips or crackers (or celery sticks and carrots for you super healthy eaters).

It takes so little time to make and it’s so simple, why on earth would I ever buy sauce ever again? Moreover, the sodium level for the one I make is 300 – 400 mg less than the ones in the store. The average jar on the shelf has about 350 mg per serving. My sauce has about 6 mg per serving, and when it’s made with love, you can’t beat it. The really good thing is, if you find cooking laborious and tedious, you can make large batches of it and freeze them. That way you won’t need to make it every time you need sauce.

So, go ahead and check out the recipe and try to make your own. It really is easy. Trust me.  You’ll be so glad you did, and you just might stop buying sauce forever.

 

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in eating, health, Healthy Heart, Marinara Sauce and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

