Count Your Blessings

1af5fd4c81b539d053293de26e9a01df

Sometimes, it’s a blessing when you don’t get what you want. That’s not always easy to see immediately. It may take a while. Case in point, I have been seeking a new position at work. It’s not as though I hate my job. It’s actually fulfilling. But I’ve been there in the same division, the same unit, the same team, since 2006. I’m just tired and burnt out, so I have been applying to different positions.

I applied to one job in particular that sounded interesting and a good stepping-stone to other positions of advancement. I was notified in the middle of June that someone else was selected. I didn’t even get an interview. Bummer! Back to the drawing board.

Today, the person over that position – who’d be my supervisor – contacted me asking if I was still interested. Evidently the applicant they selected has moved on already. When I applied, I had no idea who my supervisor would be. I don’t even think she was there at the time I applied. Had I known who I’d be working for, I never would have applied in the first place. She’s a nice lady, but if you looked up “micro-manager” in the dictionary, you’d see her picture. I cannot – I will not – work for a micro-manager. Knowing who the supervising manager is, I am not surprised that the person they hired decided to moved on.

So, when she reached out to me today asking if I was still interested, I was glad to say, nicely, that I was no longer interested. It’s certainly a blessing that I wasn’t selected. Fortunately, I’m not miserable in my current position, so I have a lot of room to think and reflect and be selective when making decisions about new positions.

If you’re a micro-manager, lighten up. Don’t hover over your employees. You probably may not even realize you’re a micro-manager. If you are open to some honest and authentic feedback, ask your employees if they think you’re a micro-manager. Ask all of them. If all or most of them say yes, then take some time to fix it. Your people will be much more productive if you let them be, let them do their work without you breathing down their necks.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in blessings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Count Your Blessings

  1. A Guy Without Boxers says:

    So true, Will! People are much more productive when given latitude in their jobs. Allow them a chance to learn and advance. Love and naked hugs, buddy! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

