It’s Just Another Pissing Match

Politics+On+The+Rocks+Color+Logo

If I’m in a competition and want to convince you that I’m a better choice than everybody else, I don’t find it very practical to do this by shitting on my competitors. I’m not going to expend my energy trashing them, telling you what’s wrong with them, what they didn’t do right, what’s wrong with the choices they have made in the past, or why they aren’t right for the job. My focus  will be all about highlighting myself: my strengths, my competencies, and what makes me the best choice. That’s why I wouldn’t make a very good politician, because debates always end up becoming a pissing contest, with everybody attacking each other, sometimes about things that have no bearing on their ability to serve effectively as president.

It appalls me to see grown, seemingly mature and educated people carry on like school children with some of the insensitive comments and sentiments the candidates expressed about each other. The debate was limited to just 10 persons, most of whom have a snowball’s chance in hell of winning anyway; but these debates just get them some exposure, setting them up for future elections – or if nothing else, they may end up with a cabinet position in the administration of the person who succeeds and ends up in the White House. I suppose the more controversial they appear, the more interesting (and memorable) they are.

I didn’t watch much of it. I watched the TV show 227. The Jenkins family gave me just as many laughs as the debate would have given me. I always prefer to read debate highlights online via CNN and MSNBC, which always seem to be a better use of my time than suffering through watching the actual debate in real time. But that can be a pain too at times, especially when they interview average citizens who complain about the state of America and the quality (and lack of equity) we receive from our government. It’s all moot though.  Only about 20% of Americans are registered to vote, and only about 44% of registered voters care enough to actually go vote. That means that many of the people who mouth off about what they don’t like are unwilling to be proactive enough to get involved and vote.  If you’re one of those people, don’t take offense. Instead, how about this?  I charge you to get registered if you are not already — there’s till time to do so — and when you vote, take someone with you or at least encourage at least one other person to go vote too. Although it may not seem like it, each vote really does count. When you think back to elections of years past, particularly when they were really close (like that Gore vs. Bush election), just a few measly additional voters would have made a big difference in the outcome.

 

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in election, politics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Just Another Pissing Match

  1. A Guy Without Boxers says:

    I applaud this awesome post, Will! Thank you for taking a stand and for offering a proactive challenge to all those who sit back and chronically complain but never bother to go to the polls and cast their ballot! Excellent job, my blogging buddy! Much love and naked hugs! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Election Pains | The Mind's Eye – Musings of Will Saunders

Leave a Reply

