Burglar Tools?

Clear Lock

Clear Practice Lock

I was scrolling through my available Mass Drop offers the other day. If you don’t know, Mass Drop is a competing site to Groupon that offers various products or services at discounted prices. So, this one Mass Drop item popped up that made me give it the side eye. It was called the Clear Practice Lock. For the life of me, I couldn’t figure out why the average person would order it. Furthermore, I couldn’t figure out why it was being sold on a seemingly reputable site like Mass Drop.

The site’s description indicated it was a “simple device for lock-picking practice [that] features a see-through design that allows you to see the movement of the five pins. It is available in either standard or security spool pin versions for those looking for more of a challenge. It’s helpful not only in learning to pick locks but also in understanding how locks work.”

Okay, the latter part of that statement about understanding how locks work makes sense. I have an inquisitive mind, and often think about that sort of thing. I get that. But I can think of only one reason some knucklehead would want to learn how to pick locks: for criminal pursuits. Businesses such as Mass Drop and others that promote and market devices like this are irresponsible because they’re contributing to the escalating problem we have with crime. The other thing that comes to mind is this. Most states have statutes that criminalize the possession of any tools or gadgets that one could use to force entry open a lock and position themselves to commit a theft or an illegal entry. Broadly they’re called burglar tools.

So that begs the question, would it technically be illegal to be found in possession of this thing? The law is so fickle. One could legally purchase this device yet he or she might possibly be charged with a crime for possessing it. My advice to you is, if you see it, pass it by. It wouldn’t surprise me to learn that some law enforcement agency were selling this to set people up to go and arrest them.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in burglar tools, picking locks, police. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

