Suicide is Final: You Get No Do-Overs

nspl-272x300

In 2001, a childhood friend committed suicide. I thought about Faedra today.  Even though I didn’t really keep in touch with her very much through the years, it was still just as disturbing and hurtful to me. You never know what someone is going through. Things must obviously be very severe if suicide seems like your only option. It made me think of the The Clever Bastard’s blog post from last summer on suicide. The gist of his post was, talk to someone. I’m giving the same advice today. Call a friend, family member, your doctor, clergy, or stop a random stranger on the street or sitting next to you on the Metro, and tell them your story.  Or just call the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline: 800-273-TALK (8255).

Like I said in response to the Clever Bastard’s blog post last summer, if I’m your friend or relative and you feel killing yourself is the only way, please call me so I can say goodbye. Even if you don’t feel it, I care. I truly do. Call me so I can say goodbye and hear your voice one last time. I’m a firm believer that showing each other arms full of TLC can help people even in small ways. You never know when a smile, a text, a note or greeting card in the mail, or a phone call to say hi and check on someone can really make a difference.

 

 

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in Stress, suicide and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

