Sleepyhead!

sleepy-head

Last night was one of the best night’s sleep I’ve had in weeks. I feel great too. I did all the things they say you should do to help you sleep better: (1) exercise for an hour or more; (2) have your last meal a couple of hours before going to bed; (3) skip the alcohol; and (4) put down the phone or tablet. That last one is always difficult for me. When I go to bed, my phone is usually in my hand, and I find myself waking up to reach for it several times during the night. Supposedly, technology can significantly contribute to cognitive stimulation in ways that do not occur when reading books, magazines, or newspapers.

Last night, I put the phone down around 7:45 or so, and I lay in bed while reading the book, Man in the Middle, which is the autobiography of former NBA player John Amaechi. I read for about an hour, reading the actual book and not the e-version, and fell asleep shortly thereafter. I awoke so refreshed. I feel fantastic.

I don’t know if I’ll be able to do this every night, but at least I know the secret to help me go to sleep and stay asleep the whole night through. I should strive to do this routinely.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in health, insomnia, sleep and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sleepyhead!

  1. trE says:

    Restful sleep is such a powerful thing. I am glad you got a chance to experience it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

