Back in the Saddle Again

… or back on the wagon again, however you want to look at it.

I really backslid on my health, fitness, and nutrition goals over the past six weeks or so. Fortunately, since I remain fairly active, I didn’t blow up too badly. Most of my clothes still fit, except for my slim fit items, which are too tight and snug. When I put them on the other day, I took them right back off. I looked like the THOT of the week.  lol

So, it’s a new beginning for me. I’m back on it now. Like I’ve done in the past, I bagged up all the unhealthy snacks and took them to this homeless guy near my job, and before you say anything about me taking him my leftovers, he’s delighted to get them. A couple of years ago I chatted with him – I do that sometimes because I can’t always give him or the homeless folks money that I encounter. But I can certainly give them compassion, and that’s what I give JT from time to time. He asked me that day if I had any old crackers and chips or other snacks at home I could bring him. He asked me at a time when I was getting back on my wagon after having fallen off, like now. So, I bagged up all of those unhealthy snacks and took them to him, along with a gift card to McDonald’s that I had gotten from someone. I seldom – mostly never – eat at McDonald’s, so that gift card was only collecting dust.

Anyhow, just like I did two years ago, I packed up my unhealthy snacks again, and took them to JT. Don’t get me wrong, yeah, I do snack on things. Like, my potato chips of choice are those that have only three ingredients: potatoes, oil, and salt. But when I’m going wild, I’ll eat whatever I feel like eating, like this one brand that has many ingredients, some of which I have no idea what they really are, including torula yeast, maltodextrin, dehydrated casein, disodium phosphate, and a few other multi- syllabic words. I also have cut out the alcohol. For some reason when I drink, I eat more snacks, I crave more snacks. Besides, the alcohol alone can and does add hundreds of extra calories my body does not need.

It’s really odd how I’m always able to inspire and encourage other people but fall short on doing the same for myself. I’m back on my game now. I’m motivating myself and kicking it in full gear. I know it doesn’t take long to see results. In about another month, I’ll be back to where I was in early April. Look out now!

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in diet, eating and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

