Why Won’t My iPhone Update

iphone-malware

Because of security flaws, including a variety of spyware and malware, Apple often releases updates to the IOS, much like other operating systems do for their devices. I haven’t been fortunate enough to be able to update my iPhone. My iPad updates. No problem. My Mac Book updates. No problem. But doggone it, my iPhone keeps giving an error message that it can’t update. I began noticing it with update 9.3.3. Then when 9.3.4 was issued, I yet again couldn’t download it.

I didn’t really worry about it. I kept telling myself to just wait till IOS 10 comes out, and then figure out what’s wrong. Then everyone started talking about this IOS 10 Beta, which has been getting some great reviews – great reviews not just from professional IT experts but from laypeople alike. In case you’re interested, you can find it on Apple’s website. It won’t yet show as available directly from the updates available on your device. Well, that’s what I tried to do. I went to Apple’s site to get 10. But I couldn’t download it. I got that error message again, and I began getting irritated. Side Note: I usually appear calm and cool most of the time, but most people don’t know how quickly I can become irritated at the least little things. It doesn’t take much to get my ire up even when I don’t show it, and this situation was no different.

Then I became paranoid last night after hearing about a significant security vulnerability in Apple’s IOS, for which a new update was issued to correct it (IOS 9.3.5). I go to download it and guess what?  If you guess that I still couldn’t download it, you’re absolutely correct. After doing some digging and researching, I found out the reason why I couldn’t download. Evidently, beginning with all updates from 9.0 going forward, if there’s not sufficient space on your device, you won’t be able to download or install any updates. That explains precisely why the other devices updated and not my iPhone. That’s what I get for ignoring all those messages I have been getting on my iPhone and in my email that my phone’s memory is almost filled to capacity. Shame on me.  I deleted some apps, some music, and some photos (including my entire ‘Recently Deleted’ album) and the update went through without a hitch. I can always re-install the apps and music later. Photos too, for that matter. Everything rests in the iCloud for easy access. That’s another thing I haven’t fully mastered. That’s next.

Anyhow, just in case you experience this problem too, I’ll share with you the Apple article I found regarding this issue. Though insufficient memory is the most likely reasons for your device’s inability to download updates, there are other possible reasons too. Read it for yourselves below

Why You Can’t Get Your Device To Install the IOS Update

 

 

 

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in cell phone, iPhone and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

