Musings on August 30th

 

me dressed up 2

You ever wake up feeling the bad case of the blahhs? That’s how I awoke up this morning. Nothing particularly wrong. While standing on the train, two stops away from my destination, a young gentleman passenger – maybe 30 something – looked at me and profusely complimented me on my outfit (a grey suit; grey, black, and puce striped socks; a grey shirt; a blue, grey, purple, puce, and black striped tie; and a black pocket square).

I don’t have to tell you he quickly brought me out of the funky mood I was in. I felt ashamed that I was giving off such a negative aura. We chatted briefly, talking about the importance of getting your mind in the right place to prepare yourself for the day ahead, and wished each other well. He reached out to shake my hand when he first complimented and again as we parted ways. I’m still beaming.

The moral of this story is this: a little kindness to a stranger can do more good than you might ever realize. That dude probably doesn’t know how much he lifted my mood. It doesn’t take much to make a difference in someone else’s life. Little things can mean so much.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in blessings, kindness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

