What A Difference A Day Makes

… well in this case, what a difference a decade (or more) makes.

Redshoe

Saturday night, I went out to an event. I had a blast. I saw a fantastic play titled, Make it Home, written and directed by Jonathan Johnson – a play highlighting the seemingly commonplace practice of overzealous police officers and their excessive use of force. Incidentally, I graduated from college in 1991 with a major in Criminal Justice, and I studied this phenomenon extensively then, which was just as prevalent as it is now. People say it’s the influx of cameras making the community more aware of it, and I couldn’t agree more.  Back then, just like it is now, the anger and outrage seemed to be heightened immediately after an incident and then subsided until the next incident, much like a pendulum swinging back and forth. It was and it is numbing.

But I digress. Make it Home is a play that brings light to the problem of what I will call police misconduct – which often ends up with a citizen being killed, strangled, beaten, or otherwise abused. I’m not sure why officers are issued tasers or pepper spray if their first response is always to reach for their gun and shoot.  But I’m not going to spend any more time about that here today. The play raised awareness and encouraged the audience to carry on the conversation broadly with their friends, family members, and coworkers.

So, as I sat there playing with my phone and looking around for friends and associates I expected to be there, a woman sat next to me and began some idle chit chat, mostly about the play since both of us saw it when it ran back in February. She immediately shifted gears and began teasing me about my shoes (pictured above). “Do your shoes glow in the dark?” she asked. You can’t see how bright they are from the picture, but they are fairly bright. When she asked me that, I immediately didn’t catch on that she was trying to be funny. It wasn’t until she made a comment about her need for sunglasses that I knew she was poking fun.

I sure have matured. I was the person who – in the past – didn’t take light kidding very well. I used to become quickly offended and eventually very angry. I’ve grown up a lot. I can take teasing in stride these days. It could also be that nowadays, I just don’t give a ****.  And that’s what’s up.

I made the woman’s face crack when I told her I have an identical pair of those shoes in blue. She probably thought I was being funny. I was ready for her.

blue shoe

She was a pleasant woman, though. We had a nice discourse. But this meme below says it all. Don’t come for me. I’ll be ready for you.

d410625db5529968d92687cb89ad427c

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in Maturity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

