Is that what you think?

Its funny when I listen to people espouse their viewpoints about various topics, especially those who hold onto their opinions so tightly and bashes those who disagree. It doesn’t matter whether the topic is politics, religion, education, or whatever the issue may be. Today’s topic happens to be Chris Brown.

Today, I’m sitting here on the train listening to random strangers  discussing Chris. If you’ve been busy and are not aware, the pop singer was arrested on Tuesday related to an incident at his Los Angeles home involving a woman Chris was accused of threatening with a gun. There were supposedly some drugs involved too, but that part is speculative. He posted bond and was later released.

These two strangers are having a very animated, heated argument about the Chris Brown. Says one of them, “Chris has been crumbling for years, spiraling out of control and is in need of help.” The other person replied, “Man, you’re crazy. Chris is living a good life. He was set up. That b**** who reported him is best friends with Chris’ ex aka baby’s mama and they were in cahoots from the beginning to sabotage his life. Chris is a good man.”

So, I’m listening to these two go back and forth, one vehemently defending Chris, the other noting a long list of bad choices without being held accountable for those choices. Both of them were holding on tightly to their opinions, supporting their points of view as if their lives depended on it.  I had to exercise lots of restraint to keep from chiming in.

It just goes to show how our life experiences – perhaps fueled by media reports and the points of view of those closest to us – can vastly shape our own opinions. I’ve written about Chris Brown in the past. Just like I said then about Chris and other notable people who end up facing controversy, “… these folk are still human, regular people aside from their celebrity status.” I think people forget that and expect for them to be perfect, flawless citizens.

Though I like Chris Brown and enjoy his craft a little bit, I know nothing about his ex or if there’s any truth to that. But whether it is true or not, that ordeal is sad regardless what all the facts may be. Frankly, that’s way too much drama for me and my quiet life. I try to live the KISS principle (Keep It Simple Stupid). The less complicated life is, the better it is for me, and I do all I can to keep it that way. That’s why both men and women alike need to be very careful who they choose to make a baby with. These are people you will have to deal with for a very long time.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in arrested, Chris brown and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

