I Don’t Like Rats


RatBig

No, I’m not referring to the two-legged variety today, though I hate them too. I’m referring to the little furry rats. I saw the biggest one yesterday just before I went into the building where I work. That sukka was huge. Fortunately, I initially saw it from a distance and I was prepared. I know without a shadow of a doubt if I hadn’t noticed it until I got right upon it, I would have jumped and screamed like a big ol’ baby. I’m quite skittish with things of that sort. Rats, mice, most bugs, snakes especially, and any other little critters. That rat was so huge I swear it looked as if it was a small puppy. I kid you not. It jumped down and ran under a planter, which probably has an opening that led down to the sewer. I can only imagine the large number of big – and small – rats and mice down there. Ewwwwww!

It’s a wonder I enjoyed the two rat movies (1) Ben, the 1972 movie and also a popular Michael Jackson song of the same name from that era; and (2) Willard made a year earlier and then remade in 2003. I loved each of these films, though I squirmed and jumped while watching them. To each his own, but I’ll never understand how some people enjoy having rats as pets. Even pet stores sell them to interested customers. Sorry, Charlie. That’s not for me.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in rats, rodents and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

