Practice Makes Perfect

spin-tofu-art-parmeseannew

The more you do something, the better you should become. I use the word “should” because I don’t think that this theory applies to everyone. I felt/feel this way when it comes to cooking artichoke or any dish that contains it. I’ve only cooked it one other time before today. I even blogged about my experience in a post titled, My First Time. I just mixed it in with other vegetables, sautéed in some olive oil.

I vowed to try it again someday. So, I did. This time, I followed a recipe (modifying it to my own special flair) that I saw pop into my Facebook timeline, and it seemed fairly simple. It was a Mozzarella-Spinach-Artichoke-Tofu casserole. I used vegan Parmesan cheese, and it was simply irresistible. I love the flavor of artichoke. Next time, I may use eggplant instead of (or maybe in addition to) the artichoke. I’ll be adding this to my online cookbook. It really is amazing. Now I just need someone to cook for.

Ingredients:

  • 4-6 thin-slices of tofu
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose wheat flour
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 medium red onion, cut in half and thinly sliced
  • 1 1/2 cups marinara sauce (I made my own sauce)
  • 2 ounces baby spinach  (about 2 cups loosely packed)
  • 2 1/2 ounces drained marinated quartered artichoke hearts, chopped (about 1/2 cup)
  • 1/4 cup shaved Vegan Mozzarella cheese (I used a commercial product Vegan Essentials)

Directions:

  1. Season the tofu with the salt and black pepper.  Coat with the flour.
  2. Heat the oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add tofu and lightly browned, approximately 5 minutes on both sides. Remove from the skillet.
  3. Add the onion to the skillet and cook for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  4. Stir in the marinara sauce, spinach and artichokes.  Return the tofu to the skillet. Reduce the heat to medium-low.  Cover and cook for about 10 minutes or until the spinach is wilted. Top with the vegan cheese.

 

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in Happy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

