It’s Not Worth It

pick-a-fight

It’s Not Worth It

For the past several days, I have seen this meme going around. The person who posted it  evidently wanted to glorify annoying his wife by cutting this piece of cake lopsided, in the center. Are people that petty that they’ll fight over something as insignificant as that? That’s obviously a rhetorical question, for I know people who can be very darned petty. Some people love to push the buttons of others — and many people love to react when someone pushes their buttons.

Look, if someone cuts your cake like that, don’t stress about it. Let it roll right off you like water off a duck’s back. It’s not worth it. If you know like I know, that cake pan will be empty before too long, and it won’t matter how the first piece was cut. Take pleasure in knowing they liked your cake enough to want to eat it.

When I was in college, there was this married guy with kids I’ll call Mike. He was much older than the rest of us single fellas, and he didn’t get many opportunities to go out and have fun. Mike often referred to his wife in a few unflattering terms, and he said when he thought she would hassle him about going to hang out with friends, he would pick a fight with her. That way she would be glad he was out of the house for a while. Why you need to resort to such methods for a little night out with friends baffles me. That’s why you need to be careful who you marry, but that’s a topic for another time.

The point of this post is, don’t always look for a reason to fight and don’t always fight back when someone fights with you. It’s not worth it. As a young kid, around 5th or 6th grade, my paternal grandmother would fuss at my grandfather about one thing or another. He just sat there smoking his cigar. I wondered why he didn’t speak up, especially on this one occasion, she was fussing at him for something I knew first hand he didn’t do. After she left the room I asked him why he didn’t say anything about it, and he basically said you should always pick your battles. Everything doesn’t require a response, especially if you want to maintain peace.

That incident never left me. That’s why I don’t fuss and argue much. I try to let things go, and I won’t fight about a lot of stuff. If I argue or confront you about something, you better recognize it’s a really big deal to me. Don’t think I enjoy attacking you, because I don’t. It creates too much stress – for you and for me. I think we’d all be happier and emotionally healthier if we could learn when not to fuss and fight. All of it doesn’t require our attention. Like my momma would sometimes say, don’t sweat the small stuff, and most of it is small stuff.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

