Just Go!

let go

When scrolling up and down my Facebook feed, I often come across a post attacking someone who has hurt them. In some instances, it’s directed toward someone they’re not connected to online. In other instances, it’s directed specifically to one of their connected online friends. It’s usually just a random Facebook ‘friend’ who they don’t even know personally.

These folks use social media as an outlet to let off steam. I can understand the importance of finding ways to vent and cope with pain and heartache. We all are emotional beings and it’s so very easy to allow ourselves to become affected by the actions of others, and lord knows I have some people I need to permanently release and let go and yet I just deal with the agony they dish out; but I know them personally. I try not to let strangers affect me that way. It’s painful enough when a close friend or relative hurts you.

Has it happened to you? If so, work on trying to release them from your heart. Like mom used to say, don’t let them have free rent in your head. Holding on to that pain and anger isn’t healthy. If someone has hurt you that much, the more you keep it stirred up, the more hurt you’re going to feel. If you don’t know them well enough to pick up the phone and give them a call to talk about it, then they certainly are not worth holding on to all that angst. Move on. If they are just some random connection on your list, they don’t care that you’re in pain, and letting them go would benefit you greatly.

Let them go and move on. You will be much happier when you do. Whenever I tell people this, someone always says it’s easier said than done. But why? If someone pains you that much, why isn’t it easy to let them go? That’s obviously rhetorical, evidenced by the number of people in unhappy marriages or who remain in a job that makes them miserable. But learn to rid yourself of those folks.

Let them go and move on.

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in Healthy Heart, relationships and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just Go!

  1. I agree with this 100 percent. I was literally thinkng of something similar to this last night. How some people are stuck in the past and they never seem to get over certain people or situations. I have noticed that them people never really accomplish anything because they are not living in their present, so therefore they can’t build for their future. When it comes to people that bring you nothing but pain (negative energy), they need to be dropped and released from peoples’ lives asap. I have no problems with letting people go.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

