Be a Blessing to Be Blessed: Part V

Be a Blessing to Be Blessed: Part V

“You reap what you sow.” Galatians 6:7

I never dismiss the small things, because I believe those little things really aren’t so little – but are a part of something bigger. Today I stopped in Pret-A-Manger, also just known as Pret, to get a cup of coffee. I seldom eat there. I mainly stop in for a beverage from time to time. I actually can count on one hand the number of times I have been there.  Today was one of those times. The coffee is self-serve. I filled my cup, went up front to pay, and the lady behind the counter told me it was on the house.

I love freebies, even though it only saved me about $2.30. Free is always good. As I was leaving, another customer who witnessed what just happened looked at me, smiled, and said, “Favor! That’s what that was.” I initially didn’t think of it that way, but I smiled, nodded, and embraced that idea. It made me think of the very nice homeless woman I often see who sleeps on the sidewalk adjacent to the National Portrait Gallery, near the MLK Library. Monday, I took her a cup of hot cocoa and a muffin and called it a day, thinking no more about it.

Though I didn’t think more about it, God always remembers and sees all that we do. Doing a good deed, no matter how small, always comes back to you. Maybe that deed is what helped me gain favor. Perhaps it was something else. Who knows? We always reap what we sow. Sometimes, the things we reap come back right away, and other times it may take a while. Some of those blessings are huge, enormous additions to our lives; there are also times when the blessings are small things, and we may not immediately see the blessings for what they are. Either way, they are there and will come back to us in immeasurable ways.

Like I always say, “Never miss an opportunity to be somebody’s blessing.”  I never know when I’ll need my own blessing, so I seek ways to store them up. They tend to come back when I least expect them to.

Be a Blessing to Be Blessed: Part IV

B a Blessing to Be Blessed: Part III

Be a Blessing to Be Blessed: Part II

Be a Blessing to Be Blessed: Part I

About Will S.

A nouveau Taurus, writing about my view of the world around me. From politics, to social problem, to public corruption, music and movies to pretty much anything I feel inspired to write.
This entry was posted in blessings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Be a Blessing to Be Blessed: Part V

  1. Margda says:

    I like this piece.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The little things that we do always add up! Positive actions towards others always brings positive actions back towards us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

